Second International Symposium on SOLID STATE CHEMISTRY

will be held in Pardubice, Czechoslovakia June 26-30, 1989

First announcement

The programme of the Symposium will be devoted to the study of DISORDERED SOLIDS which will cover Preparation, Crystallization, Non-stoichiometry, Diffusion, Defects, Grain interfaces, Chemical, Thermodynamics, Structural and Physical characterization and Application aspects.

New concepts, approaches and fundamental understanding will be stressed. Special sessions are planned for:

- chemistry of non-traditional glasses
- high T_c superconducting materials
- kinetics and mechanism of solid state reactions.

Preliminary Registration Forms with abstracts of contribution, as well as all suggestions and requests for information, should be addresses to:

Dr. Ladislav Koudelka Institute of Chemical Technology 532 10 Pardubice Czechoslovakia

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 1989 METTLER AWARD IN THERMAL ANALYSIS

The North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) welcomes nominations for the 1989 Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. This annual award sponsored by the Mettler Instrument Corporation consists of a certificate, a

John Wiley & Sons, Limited, Chichester
Akadémiai Kiadó, Budapest

\$2,000.00 honorarium, and travel allowance to the 18th NATAS meeting in San Diego, CA (Sept. 1989).

The award recognizes and encourages work in and distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis, including but not restricted to thermogravimetry, differential thermal analysis, and effluent gas analysis. A nominee must have performed outstanding service in the field of dynamic thermal analysis or performed outstanding creative work in the creation of or refinement of measurement techniques of generally wide interest during the preceding five years.

The previous recipients of the Mettler Award are:

· •	
1968 - R. C. MacKenzie	1978 – John K. Gillham
1969 - Robert L. Stone	1979 - David Dollimore
1970 - Wesley W. Wendlandt	1980 – Joseph H. Flynn
1971 - Bernhard Wunderlich	1981 – Takeo Ozawa
1972 - Ferenc and Jenő Paulik	1982 – Jen Chiu
1973 – Edward M. Barall, III	1983 - Roger S. Porter
1974 – Jaroslaw Sesták	1984 – Leo Mandelkern
1975 – Frank Karasz	1985 – Edith A. Turi
1976 - Patrick K. Gallagher	1986 - Hans G. Wiedemann
1977 – H. Kambe	1987 – Harvey Bair
	1988 – Jean Rouquerol

Nominations should include a description of the accomplishments of the nominee that are relevant to the Mettler Award. Nominations will be accepted through December 31, 1988 and the award will be announced by April 1, 1989. Nominations should be sent to:

Richard P. Chartoff University of Dayton Center for Basic & Applied Polymer Research Dayton, Ohio 45469

Corrigenda

According to the request of the author of paper entitled "On the composition and strength of charge-transfer complexes" which appeared in J. Thermal Anal., 32 (1987) pp. 1381–1385, we publish the correct data of Table 1, column 3 as follows:

Column 3 should be "(80, 78), (78, 120), (120, 124), (124, 125), (125, 124), (191, 197), (197, 193), (193, 181), (181, 166), (166, 110), (98, 96), (96, 98), (98, 98), (98, 125), (61, 65), (65, 65), (65, 126), (126, 133), (78, 80), (80, 78), (78, 171), (171, 173), (173, 169), (185, 192), (192, 191), (191, 186), (186, 191), (191, 185), (185, 176), (97, 160), (160, 168), (168, 175), (65, 66), (66, 119), (119, 169), (169, 170), (170, 160)".